2015 Dakota Water Treatment  | 952-953-4643 | Lakeville, Minnesota 

Dakota Water Treatment provides quality water softeners and drinking water systems to the cities of Apple Valley, Burnsville, Chanhassen, Chaska, Cottage Grove, Edina, Eagan, Farmington, Inver Grove, Lakeville, Prior Lake, Savage, Shakopee, Victoria and Woodbury. Call us today to see what system is best for you.

Testimonials / Reviews

6/22/2018

Reasonably priced water softener. The installer (owner of company) showed up on time, was nice to talk to while he did the installation and provided answers to all my questions. The installation passed the city inspection. Would definitely recommend.

Google- 5 stars

Kent E.

Lakeville, MN

6/1/2018

Fast service and helped me get my water back on track! Helpful and affordable. Thanks again!

Google-5 stars

Mandy M.

 

4/4/2018

I would like to say thank you for the great job on installing our new water softener and whole house carbon filter. Paul was very knowledgeable and easy to talk to when I asked hime some questions we are looking for many years of good service with your company. Thanks again Ed K.

dakotawater@charter.net

Ed K. Rosemount, MN 

1/29/2018

Jolene our water pressure is now back again, evidently it was our water softener. Thank you, Paul did a great job on the install and hauled away our old broken softener. For those of you with a water softener that is more than 10 years old and don’t have any water pressure it might be the reason, Dakota Water Treatment does a great job.

Nextdoor

Matt M. Lakeville, MN

 

12/13/2017

Customer Service, Environment, Quality, Selection, Wait Time

Great work!

Square Up

Richard S. Farmington, MN

 

 

10/16/2017

Awesome job!

Square Up

Dean D. Apple Valley, MN 

 

10/4/2017

Excellent! Top rated water softener product, appointment and work completed was fast and efficient...

Angie's List overall rating: A

Bill S. Apple Valley, MN

 

 

7/6/2017

Environment, Wait Time, Quality, Customer Service, Selection

Wonderful experience! Paul explained everything very well and was extremely helpful!

Square Up

Danielle B. Inver Grove Heights, MN

 

 

5/27/2017

Starting with their informative website, to the first phone call, where Jolene explained everything thoroughly and answered all my questions, to the scheduling of the install, and the installation itself - everything went great! Jolene and Paul were so nice to deal with, and Paul did an excellent job of installing the new water softener in a tight location, even transferring a lot of relatively new, good salt I had in my old tank to the new one. Haul-away of the old softener was also included. I would definitely recommend this company to friends and neighbors.

Angie's List overall rating: A

Linda H. Apple Valley. MN

4/25/2017

Very well from initial contact to install, prompt and quality work. Left area clean, gave thorough review of system and how to operate. Made an immediate positive difference.

Angie's List overall rating: A

Susan K. Eagan, MN

 

4/23/2017

Great company! Great work!

Square Up

Chris R. Apple Valley, MN

 

 

4/10/2017

Great! Set-up was easy. On time. Took just over an hour to install new softener.

Angie's List overall rating: A

Jerrod N. Burnsville, MN

 

3/6/2017

I called several companies and got prices for replacing our water softener. Several wanted to show up and give the dog and pony show. When I called Dakota Water Treatment and explained my situation, they asked a few questions over the phone to help determine the correct size water softener for our household and quoted a price that was lower than all of the other companies I had talked with, and were able to schedule the installation to occur within a few days. They showed up to install the water softener on time and were quick and thorough. They removed and disposed our old water softener, installed the new water softener, and took care of getting the necessary city permits. Also, the warranty was the best one I could find! Thanks Dakota Water Treatment for your Professional service!

Angie's List overall rating: A

Jay H. Eagan, MN

 

 

1/26/2017

Customer Service, Environment, Quality, Selection, Wait Time

Very knowledgeable!

Square Up

Pete A. Shakopee, MN

 

12/22/2016

Excellent company to work with from start to finish. My GE softener burst and I needed emergency service. i called several companies and the lady at Dakota was by far the most knowledgeable. They also had the softener I was looking for at great price! The install went flawless. Very happy. Would highly recommend!

Yelp

Alan S. Apple Valley, MN

 

12/19/2016

Customer Service, Environment, Quality, Selection, Wait Time

Great job

Square Up

Tim C. Savage, MN 

9/13/16

I had Dakota Water Treatment install a water softener in our home last month. I was impressed with their price and level of service. When Jolene answered, she blew me away by her knowledge of water softeners. She spent at least a half hour talking to me about softener valves and softeners in general. She was 100% correct with all of her knowledge and I was able to confirm everything through research. Not only that, but she was not at all inconvenienced by all of my questions. She definitely steered me towards the correct product for me and my home and had a great attitude the entire time. Paul did an amazing job with the install and was also very friendly. The install was quick and painless and he cleaned up after himself. He gave me information on maintenance and even some suggestions on other products in my home. He was also fun to make small talk with. I am confident in not only the product and install, but the fact that I was able to support a family business with great service! Great Job guys! Did I mention they have the best price around?

Angie's List overall rating: A

William C. Prior Lake, MN

8/29/2016

Extremely responsive. I had water spraying out of my old softener, so it was a semi-emergency, and they came out the same day, and had a new one installed that afternoon.

Angie's List overall rating: A

Jordan W.  St Paul, MN

 

 

8/12/2016

Environment, Customer Service, Selection, Wait Time, Quality, Other

Great customer service and personal attention. Very satisfied with the results.

Square Up

Paul C. -Lakeville, MN

6/2/2016

Customer Service, Quality, Selection, Wait Time

The service was great. The owner was the installer and was super nice. He explained everything. Cleaned everything up. He exceeded my expectations.

Square Up

John S. -Prior Lake, MN

12/8/2015

Replaced water softener. Excellent information, timeliness and courteous installer.

Angie's List overall rating: A

Robert K. -Inver Grove Heights

7/20/2015

Angie's List overall rating: A

James S. -Apple Valley, MN

8/17/2015

Dakota Water Treatment responded to our request within hours, and we scheduled an appointment that day for the following Monday. They arrived on time, and were very courteous and professional. Paul took the time to go over all of the work and the recommendations for using the new water softener. They then followed up with a thank you note with some written reminders of how we should be using the softener, and what salt to buy. Our experience with Dakota Water Treatment was very positive, and we would recommend their services to everyone.

Angie's List overall rating: A

Sean F. -Savage, MN

 

 

 

 

7/7/2015

Angie's List overall rating: A

Tonya P. -St Paul, MN

6/3/2015

Paul arrived promptly and prepared. He removed my old water softener and installed a new one. The work was done well and professionally. He was very knowledgeable about the work to be done and was great at explaining everything as he progressed through the work. He offered usage tips and went through operating instructions with me thoroughly. I am very pleased with the quality of appliance purchased and installation Highly recommend.

Angie's List overall rating: A

Karen S. - Rosemount, MN

3/13/2015

Replaced older water softener with a new Millenium softener. Great product and customer service from set-up to installation. We would definitely recommend to others.

Angie's List overall rating: A

Angela J. -Savage, MN

12/19/2014

Dakota Water Treatment is a family-owned business.  While researching water softeners, I called them, and Paul was very patient with answering many questions and providing a cost estimate over the phone.  He demonstrated detailed knowledge about the products he sells and installs, and he was not pushy at all.  Previously, we owned a Kinetico softener which had recently broken, and the sales staff from that company were very pushy.  We also felt that Dakota Water Treatment's prices were very fair after comparing them with both Culligan and Kinetico.  Finally, only Dakota Water Treatment offered a 5 year warranty that included 5 years of labor.  The competition only included one year of labor in their warranties.
Paul came out and installed both a new water softener and whole house water filter in one afternoon.  He is very courteous and professional.  I highly recommend Dakota Water Treatment.

Angie's List overall rating: A

Stacie H. -Savage, MN

 

 

8/5/14

I had a very positive experience with this company. One of my co-workers recommended them. I called them got a quote on water softener. Jolene provided me with all the information and set up appointment. Jolene suggested that I make purchase of some crystal salt for the new system. She stated I could find the product at Home Depot. Stopped at Home Depot and made purchase. Appointment went great. They do charge a separate fee for removal of the old unit and I decided to take it to one of the recycling facilities that charge a small fee $10.00 fee (at JR recycling in Eagan). I'm single parent and I really appreciate them not talking down too me and I'm glad I took the time and shopped around for the best product for my money. The product also had a much longer warranty then one of the major competitors.

This customer had a POSITIVE experience with this business.

This customer WOULD recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.

Better Business Bureau

Michelle R - Apple Valley, MN

11/28/14

We recently moved into a townhome built in 2002 and needed a water softener ASAP.

We set up a day within a week of my email.  Paul arrived on time and installed water softener and answered all my questions in less than an hour. He was very friendly and knowledgeable. It's been great so far, glasses come out of dishwasher nice and clear, also using less laundry soap, shampoo and conditioner.  We would recommend him to a friend.

Angie's List overall rating: B

Kathy P - Rosemount, MN

10/2/2014

We purchased a system from Dakota Water Treatment several years ago. Our water is very challenging! When I had a concern this week, Paul was there the next morning. Everything is up and running. Great service.

Angie's List overall rating: A

Becky G. -Inver Grove Heights, MN

8/14/14

Dakota Water Treatment was great to work with. Their price was fair and they didn't try to oversell me a water softener size that I didn't need. They explained things about water softeners much better and more succinctly than the other companies I called, and I felt they were honest. I would recommend them to others.

Angie's List overall rating: A

Tami G.  -Burnsville, MN

8/9/2014

Went very well.  Owner did the install.  The cost was better than anyone else.  I would use them again

Angie's List overall rating: A

James K. -Rosemount

2/19/14

Paul came to replace the water softener tank that had been cracked 3 years ago, I had not had soft water for this long and finally decided to get a new tank.   Now I have soft water running and I am considering putting in drinking water system. I am Deaf, Paul used his iPhone to communicate with me by speaking into the phone and comes out the text which I read. It was a cool way to communicate.

Angie's List overall rating: A

Kathryn H. -Burnsville, MN

2/3/14

Answered all questions.  Very prompt.

Angie's List overall rating: A

Mary F. -Burnsville, MN 

 

1/20/14

I gave them a call at 10:15 am, they told me they had a cancellation and could be here by 11 or 11:30.  They actually showed up at 10:45, and by noon the installation was complete!   Jolene did an excellent job of explaining my options over the phone, and of quickly arranging an almost immediate installation.  Installation was fast and professional.  I'm sitting here shortly after noon, still amazed that this whole process began less than two hours ago!

Angie's List overall rating: A

Phillip W. -Savage, MN

9/23/2013

Wonderful people to work with. They took the time to tell me in detail about my options. Paul on time and was very efficient with the install and it was done in under 90 minutes (was quoted 2-3 hours). If service is needed again I will call them again without hesitation

Angie's List overall rating: A

Leslie S. -Lakeville

3/20/2013
They showed up on time, worked quickly and everything is functioning. I originally contacted them hoping to find either a used water softener or a rental water softener.  They explained why they didn't sell either used equipment or provide rentals.  I ended up buying a new unit from them.  I spent way more than I had planned to do; I had hoped to replace the non-working unit for about $500; ended up spending $850.
I'm happy with the service, but wish they sold used and rental equipment.  This was a big chunk of money to shell out.   Don't go to them if you are looking for less expensive options.  The $850 softener was the least expensive option they offer.

Angie's List overall rating: B

Kaye S. -Bloomington, MN

3/24/2013

Excellent. Jolene reponded to my call immediately and set up an appointment. 
I suspected that my old water softener needed to be replaced, since it was over 18 years old. Paul arrived at my house on time, and inspected the old softener. While the old one might've been abled to be "saved", I prefered to to have new one installed. To my delight, Paul had the product on the truck and was able to remove the the old one, and and install the new one immediately. It took about 1 hour. Paul and his help did an efficient job, and cleanup was complete. The old softener and brine tank were removed for recycling. They were informative, professional and friendly.
New water softener works great!

Angie's List overall rating: A

Edward K. -Bunsville, MN

2/8/2013

Tech arrived on time, installed the softener in a professional manner. Was courteous and efficient and did the job as I had expected.
I am very pleased with the result. We now have a fine machine and soft water again! I would highly recommend this company.

Angie's List overall rating: A

Andrew R. -Farmington, MN

8/27/2012

The house I purchased in Savage had a leased water softener that was old, and from what I could tell almost completely non functional.  I did my homework and was advised to find an independent dealer who was from and knew the area well.  I talked to a number of people and Paul from Dakota Water took a good chunk of time out of his day to go through lots of my annoying questions without hesitation.  We decided on the softener to get and he came out promptly to install it in the next few days.  He was very professional, courteous (very nice guy) and extremely knowledgeable.  Took care of the whole thing and explained what I needed to know before leaving.  
The price was right in the ballpark for what a "good" water softener costs and was all inclusive of the install, delivery, etc.  After only a few hours, the entire system has made a huge difference in my water pressure and condition in general, and I'm very pleased with the entire experience.  I didn't have the money to do a  decholorination filter at the same time, but will definitely use Paul when I add one on.  Great company, zero pressure whatsoever (I get the feeling he'd talk you out of spending more money if you didn't need to) will definitely recommend them to anyone who needs water conditioning services. 

Angie's List overall rating: A

Justin F. -Savage, MN

5/9/2011

Tested old softener Removed old softener Installed New softener Disposed of old softener

Member Comments: 

Dakota water treatment came to our home at the designated time.  Tested our old softener and informed us that there were worn out seals.  We discussed the option of repair or replace and decided to replace.  Immediately he pulled a new softener from his truck and went to work with the replacement.  About 2 hours total and we had a new softener in place and he disposed of our old one.  This was a very smooth process and our new softener works fantastic and uses almost 1/2 the salt of our previous unit.

Angie's List overall rating: A

Justin W. -Prior Lake, MN

4/19/2011

Dakota Water Treatment replaced our old water softener and also installed a filtered drinking water system.

Member Comments: 

Paul and Jolene were both delightful to work with.  I met them at a home-and-garden-type event held at the Lakeville High School earlier this year.  They were showcasing their products in a way that was personable but low-pressure.  I was attracted to the minimal "footprint" of the water softeners they were selling and also to the incentives offered with purchases at the show.  On the day of installation, Paul arrived earlier than scheduled (at my request).  He was very solicitous about placing the softener and drinking water equipment exactly where I wanted them.  I got the distinct impression he approaches each job in a thoughtful manner, as if the equipment was being set up in his own home.   

Angie's List overall rating: A 

Terry R. -Eagan, MN

8/24/2010

Did RO maintenance, tested softner / water condition / pressure. Also installed UV light in furnace to kill bacteria. Worked direct with owner - as a small business owner myself - I like this. He arrived 5 minutes early. Not the cheapest - but I think he's the best.

Angie's List overall rating: A

Michael B. -Lakeville, MN

5/20/2008

Excellent experience! After multiple quotes on this type of system, we chose Dakota Water because of the great customer service and product knowledge. We felt, as consumers, they took the time to educate us - and not sell us what we didn't need. Installation was smooth and easy. Post installation, the company has been great at answering any follow-up questions (i.e., installation of RO system to new fridge).

Angie's List overall rating: A

Paul R. -Rosemount, MN

10/20/2008

We've been having water softener trouble at home and at a rental property. We called Dakota Water Treatment and Jolene gave me wonderful advice and educated me on softeners. I decided to rent a system elsewhere for my rental (because we hope to not have it much longer) but was still considering buying a new unit for my home. I called about 2 weeks later and had Paul, the owner, come out and do a water test (we have very hard water) and he gave us a rundown of what system and filter we should use and why. He did not have the correct filter with him (to address our well water issue) so we didn't have the softener installed just yet but when we're ready we will use them for sure. While he was here we decided to have him install a UV Air Purifier system onto our furnace and we are VERY happy about that! (We believe that we're already, days later, noticing a big difference in air quality!)

Member Comments: 

Paul is very smart about softeners which did cause him to say some things that were flying over our heads. We could have used the information more dumbed-down for us but we liked that he was so educated on the topic. I would, and will, use this company again. They are so smart when it comes to professional softener systems. I will never buy a cheap system from a big box store again - sooo not worth it when you can get a professional system for a little bit more. (You get what you pay for!)

Angie's List overall rating: A

Jennifer R. -Richfield, MN

10/8/2007

Every year they replace the filters for you and its well worth the cost. They are excellent. They are very timely. They are just great!

Angie's List overall rating: A

Maria C. -Lakeville, MN

 

5/6/2007

Installed a high-end water softener with a pre-filter (to remove particles from the well water). He also installed a nice step at our garage door which made getting the softener in much easier.Member Comments: Paul analyzed our water and gave us professional advice on what we needed. He explained all of the options with pricing, pros and cons. The options were clear, but there was no high pressure to install a particular option. We made our choices and explained we were leaving for vacation in a few days. He gave us a date before we were leaving to do the install. He arrived on time for the install. Worked quickly and professionally. The installation is very nice. He explained the operation of the softener very clearly. Overall, we were VERY pleased with this work at the time and are still pleased a couple of months later. Water quality is excellent.

Angie's List overall rating: A

Dwight I. -Inver Grove Heights, MN

 

8/12/2006

They installed a water softener and a water purification system in our new home.

Member Comments: 

Paul was the salesman-he was exceptional. I had a positive experience with this company on every level and I would recommend them to everyone. He did a few things to be more than accommodating and helpful, the customer service blew me away.

Angie's  List overall rating: A

Maria C. -Lakeville, MN